Home > IIT Kharagpur, IIT Madras, India Semiconductor Association, ISA, VLSI, VLSI Society of India, VSI > Academia wins big at ISA-VSI Technovation Awards

Academia wins big at ISA-VSI Technovation Awards

July 31, 2007

The India Semiconductor Association (ISA), along with the VLSI Society of India (VSI), gave away the first ISA-VSI Technovation Awards before a gathering of the virtual who’s who of the Indian semicon industry in Bangalore.

This is probably the first time that the Indian academia has been honored in such a manner by an industry association. The occasion symbolized how closely the Indian academia was working with the Indian semiconductor industry.

The ISA-VSI TechnoVisionary, a Lifetime achievement award, was given to Prof. Krishna Saraswat from the Stanford University, USA for his outstanding contributions in the field of semiconductors.

The ISA-VSI TechnoMentor of the year award was given to Prof. Jagdish Kumar of IIT-Delhi, an academic professional working in India for mentoring and research. The professor thanked all of his students and well wishers, who contributed in one way or the other in his receiving the award.

The Indian Institute of Technology, Madras and the Indian Institute of Technology, Karagpur were the joint recipients of the ISA-VSI TechnoShield Award. The two institutes have done commendable work in the field of microelectronics.

Rakesh Sharma from the National Institute of Technology, Kurukshetra and Syam Sundar Reddy E, from the Indian Institute of Technology, Madras, received the ISA-VSI TechnoInventor Award for their outstanding post-graduate and doctoral research thesis.

Poornima Shenoy, president, ISA, summed it all aptly saying: “The semiconductor driven industry relies on university research to take it further. India should be an active participant in this process and industry appreciates and understands this fact.”

%d bloggers like this: