Home > developers, Pradeep Chakraborty's Blog, Security, Semiconductors, social networking, solar/PV, Web 2.0, Web browsers > Epic — first ever web browser for India, from India!

Epic — first ever web browser for India, from India!

July 24, 2010

Indians are highly skillful and innovative, and the recently released Epic web browser provides an excellent example. The Epic browser is said to be the first-ever web browser for India. It is also the first product from Bangalore-based Hidden Reflex, a software company. Hidden Reflex is a software product start-up founded by Alok Bhardwaj in 2007.

Epic incidentally comes with a built-in anti-virus scanner. Some privacy features include one-click private data deletion, one-click private browsing, and flash cookie deletion built-in (Epic claims to be the first browser ever to kill them!).

The Epic web browser.

The Epic web browser.

Quite nice and easy to use and surf the web, Epic has loads of sidebar applications — a huge plus point! You can type in any Indian language. Next, you can skin your Epic browser.

I selected Sunil Gavaskar, the famous Indian cricketer, as my skin (see top of image) for multiple reasons. One, I feel that he’s the one man who changed the way India plays cricket today, starting from his epic performances in the West Indies in 1971! Two, whatever anyone wishes to say, he is India’s greatest test cricket batsman ever! The other choice was Bruce Lee, but I could not locate him!

Next, there’s an application that lets you edit and save as text or HTML. There’s another application called Snippets, which lets you highlight text, images, etc., and drag and drop into the sidebar to create a snippet. I tried developing one and it works quite well.

Users would be interested to know about a video sidebar. You can perform a YouTube search while working, and find and watch the video you like! The My Computer application opens all folders you’d like to see. So, you can open any folder and directly open any file or files, while surfing on the browser. Another application lets you create a To Do list, to remind you of the chores you need to do! Yet another interesting application has a timer, alerts and stopwatch.

There are direct links to social media sites such as Facebook, Twitter, Orkut, as well as to Gmail and Yahoo — all on the browser’s sidebar. Okay, there’s a Maps application as well. You can use the built in Google Map to locate places, find directions, etc.

There’s a travel application, which allows you to book air tickets via Yatra, Cleartrip, etc. I clicked on the Trains, which showed up Cleartrip. Wish that Epic can add the IRCTC website as well at the earliest.

There’s a sidebar application on Jobs as well! I tried it out, and again, it works well! Games is yet another application of interest! I didn’t try that out, lest I get sidetracked!

You can add tons of information, news, etc., on to the sidebars as desired. I happened to add CricInfo, since cricket is my (and I believe, all of India’s) favorite game!

Interested, folks? You can add over 1,500 Epic applications to the sidebar. All are free! I tried adding the technology news. There are lots of choices.

Since my interests are largely information on subjects such as semiconductors, solar photovoltaics and electronic components, I was a bit disappointed that I didn’t find what I was hoping for! I hope my blog also features in that list some day! 😉

Well done guys!

This is my 500th post!
By the way, this particular post happens to be my 500th post on WordPress! Actually, it would have crossed this mark long back, had not my original blog on Blogspot been injected with malware last August! That was a very difficult period. However, readers like you, and friends such as Usha Prasad, Sagar Desai, Jo Kuo and Poornima Shenoy, to name a few, kept me going. Thank you all, my dear friends.

It has been a long journey of nearly four years now. Look forward to many more interesting years. Once again, thanks to all of you, dear friends and well wishers.

  1. William J. Kelleher, Ph.D.
    July 24, 2010 at 10:13 pm

    Dear Mr. Chakraborty: Find out about the big debate in the US. Would you like to help bring democratic reform to India’s elections?

    Check me out at, INTERNET VOTING SECURITY SPECIAL ON BLIP TV.

    Bill Kelleher

  2. July 24, 2010 at 10:26 pm

    Hello Mr Kelleher, thanks for your note. I focus on technology, with very little interest in politics. Also, I am not a public figure like you :), but merely a simple blogger. Don’t know whether anyone would be willing to hear me out on politics.

    But certainly, democratic reforms are very necessary for every country, including the USA and India.

  3. Absar Taqvi
    July 25, 2010 at 6:02 pm

    Hi Sir. I hope this finds you in good health. I am one of your many admirers from Pakistan; would be visiting India on July 29th to 31st. I will be giving a presentation on LTE in Pune and would be mentioning about this venture there too. Great work!

    • July 25, 2010 at 6:11 pm

      Nice to hear that, Absar. Mashaallah, hope your presentation is a superhit! 😉

    • Absar Taqvi
      July 25, 2010 at 6:43 pm

      Thanks sir! =)

  4. Absar Taqvi
    July 25, 2010 at 6:42 pm

    I have also written an article on this…kind of a tribute it is. Check it out zumbeel.net!

  5. chankey
    August 15, 2010 at 6:06 pm

    Hi Pradeep. I want to know how do you put Adsense ads there? What’s the HTML code for adsense ads? Please send me.

  6. August 15, 2010 at 6:29 pm

    Chankey, I find that you are using Blogspot. Simply sign up for Google Adsense. Best of luck.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
